top of page

Seasons Greetings...

Although fall is warm and calming , there is something magical and special that comes with the Christmas season. As we walk closer to the beginning of that season, Christmas movies flood over our streaming services. There is something about a Christmas movie that sets the tone and welcomes in the holiday mood. Some might disagree and argue that Christmas music is the culprit, but I would say we all need a healthy mix of both. A Christmas song played during the day paves the path, but what finishes the property is being curled up on the couch while cozy lights illuminate the moment and a Christmas movie concludes the night. Of course, there are a lot of terms used for this genre, (cheesy, redundant, and predictable are only a few) but to me and so many others, comical, classic, and comforting are the words I would use to describe them.

Peoples Choice


I asked people for their opinion on their favorite Christmas movies and received a list of many great films. The most common was The Santa Clause, starring Tim Allen. Truly three of the most must-watch movies of the season. If you haven’t watched them I highly encourage you to do so to reign in a deeper cozy season. Elf is another of the top movies on the list. A fun and easy-to-watch movie, however, not one of my top favorite movies. If it is on I’ll watch it, but I never go seeking it out. Now the cream of the crop, the best of the best, my all-time favorite movie that thankfully someone else mentioned is White Christmas. A 1954 classic that I have watched every year for as long as I can remember. Once I watch this movie I can’t help but feel that Christmas spirit swirling around as if I were in a Disney movie. Nothing is more iconic than those songs, costumes, characters, sets, and dances. The scene where Phil (Danny Kaye) and Judy (Vera-Ellen) are dancing together out by the water to “The Best Things Happen While You're Dancing” (Song by Danny Kaye) is simply iconic. Judy’s costume is the most beautiful pink dress and is one of my top dream movie dances that one day I would love to recreate. Now, while I could geek out on that movie forever, a few honorable mentions by others were, While You Were Sleeping, starring Sandra Bullock, Holiday Inn, a classic from 1942, The Holiday, finally starting to enter into the rom coms, and many say that Die hard is a must watch, however, I have yet to accept the connection other than the Christmas party.


My Choice


My Christmas classics are a basic bunch, but it wouldn’t be a cozy season without these favorites. As I mentioned earlier, White Christmas. And two movies that everyone should watch are Home Alone 1 & 2, these movies are constantly quoted by my family. Marv and Harry are ionic characters that lace the movies with a perfect array of humor and stupidity. The Santa Clause movies are a must as well as a good basic, predictable, and cheesy rom-com from the Hallmark channel. I have made a dent in many of the Netflix Holiday movies, yet I have found nothing that I would add to my yearly collection. My parents would put on It’s a Wonderful Life every year to where I could fall asleep anytime and wake up knowing exactly where in the movie I was and what I had missed. The 2018 Dr. Seuss The Grinch is a fun movie for the whole family mixing the traditional Grinch with a fun and whimsical eye-catching animated landscape. A few other honorable mentions are The Christmas Chronicles 2018, the live-action How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and Last Christmas 2019. I will admit that growing up, the Barbie Nutcracker showed up from time to time. And, I will say that it is funny how most Holiday movies land in the realm of a prince or princes falling in love with a commoner or a millionaire who falls for their “enemy” from a small town. They are all off-brands of one another, yet people are drawn to watch them regardless because no one can pass up cheesy, predictable love stories during a season where people are either a grinch or the sunshine amongst the snow. One genre I find particularly fascinating that people are interested in is holiday movies filmed on islands. Although it’s sunny and unusual, nothing beats the over-dramatized winter wonderlands that are created for those generic holiday films.



Something About it


There is just something whimsical and enjoyable about a holiday movie that can break the barrier between fall to winter. Although, holiday episodes of our favorite shows can also encourage a smile and a desire to sip on hot chocolate while the Christmas lights break through the darkness of a TV-lit room. Seasonal movies can also bring together a family and cause laughter to scatter throughout a home. Holidays might not be the easiest time for some, but to find moments away from the everyday world around us to dive into a story bound to have a happy ending can spread a dash of joy to a sometimes stressful time.


Christmas has some of the best seasonal movies with new ones coming out each year. December is approaching and that only leaves a small window to fit all of the special movies that complete the holiday, so that means we need to start now. I hope you find and watch a new movie that draws you into the holiday spirit and let me know what your favorite film is to watch this time of year. Don’t forget to subscribe and share the blog with a friend or two. Also, don’t forget to follow along on Instagram (@theallie.way) I enjoy being able to interact with you all. Thanks for reading and getting prepared for Christmas with me Allie-Cats! Have a fantastic weekend.


  • Dru Allie

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page